Search for Hamilton County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Hamilton County Marriage License 2300 Superior Street Webster IA 50595 515-832-9535
Blairsburg Town Hall 310 Lake Street Blairsburg IA 50034 515-325-6244
Ellsworth City Hall 1528 Dewitt Street Ellsworth IA 50075 515-836-4751
Hamilton County Clerk 2300 Superior Street Webster IA 50595 515-832-9600
Jewell City Clerk 701 Main Street Jewell IA 50130 515-827-5425
Jewell City Hall 701 Main Street Jewell IA 50130 515-827-5425
Kamrar City Hall 414 Elm Street Kamrar IA 50132 515-539-3477
Stanhope City Clerk 665 Iowa Street Stanhope IA 50246 515-826-3290
Stratford City Hall 805 Shakespeare Avenue Stratford IA 50249 515-838-2311
Webster City City Hall 400 2nd Street Webster IA 50595 515-832-9141
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Hamilton County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Hamilton County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.