Search for Clinton County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Clinton County Marriage License 1900 North 3rd Street Clinton IA 52732 319-243-6210
Camanche City Clerk 917 3rd Street Camanche IA 52730 563-259-8342
Charlotte City Hall 102 Charles Street Charlotte IA 52731 563-677-2710
Clinton County Clerks Office 612 North 2nd Street Clinton IA 52732 563-243-6213
Clinton County Health Department 226 11th Street De Witt IA 52742 563-659-8148
De Witt City Hall 510 9th Street De Witt IA 52742 563-659-3811
Delmar City Clerk 508 Main Street Delmar IA 52037 563-574-4256
Goose Lake City Hall 221 Main Street Goose Lake IA 52750 563-577-2299
Grand Mound City Hall 615 Sunnyside Street Grand Mound IA 52751 563-847-2190
Lost Nation Town Hall 301 Pleasant Street Lost Nation IA 52254 563-678-2114
Wheatland City Hall 205 E Jefferson St Wheatland IA 52777 563-374-1289
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Clinton County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Clinton County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.