Search for Carroll County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Carroll County Marriage License 6Th & Main Street Carroll IA 51401 712-792-3328
Breda City Hall 108 North 2nd Street Breda IA 51436 712-673-2660
Carroll City Hall 112-18 East 5th Street Carroll IA 51401 712-792-1000
Carroll County Clerk 114 East 6th Street Carroll IA 51401 712-792-4327
Carroll County Health Department 318 South Maple Street Carroll IA 51401 712-794-5279
Cool Rapids City Clerk 123 South 3rd Avenue Coon Rapids IA 50058 712-999-7749
Dedham City Hall 210 Main Street Dedham IA 51440 712-683-5711
Glidden City Clerk 108 Idaho St Glidden IA 51443 712-659-3010
Lidderdale City Hall 115 North Main Street Lidderdale IA 51452 712-822-5253
Manning City Hall 717 3rd Street Manning IA 51455 712-655-2176
Templeton City Hall 108 S Main St Templeton IA 51463 712-669-3443
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Carroll County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Carroll County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.