Jasper County Marriage Licenses

Search for Jasper County IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Jasper County Marriage License 101 1st Street North Newton IA 50208 641-792-5442


Baxter City Hall 203 South Main Street Baxter IA 50028 641-227-3120

Colfax City Hall 15 East Howard Street Colfax IA 50054 515-674-4096

Jasper County Clerk 101 1st Street North Newton IA 50208 641-792-3255

Kellogg City Clerk 224 High Street Kellogg IA 50135 641-526-3403

Kellogg City Hall 223 High Street Kellogg IA 50135 641-526-8264

Lynnville City Hall 308 East Street Lynnville IA 50153 641-527-2790

Mingo City Hall 101 South Station Street Mingo IA 50168 641-363-4441

Monroe City Hall 206 Sherman Street Monroe IA 50170 641-259-2319

Prairie City City Hall 203 East Jefferson Street Prairie IA 50228 515-994-2649

Reasnor City Hall 312 North Street Reasnor IA 50232 641-793-2752

Reasnor Town Hall 312 North Street Reasnor IA 50232 641-793-2752

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony

8. License Valid: Does not expire

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Jasper County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.

How do I get a marriage license in Jasper County, Iowa?

You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?

A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.

How old do you have to be to get married in Jasper County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.