Search for Clayton County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Clayton County Marriage License 111 North High Street Elkader IA 52043 319-245-2710
Clayton County Clerk PO Box 418 Elkader IA 52043 563-245-2204
Clayton County Health Department 23687 Gunder Road Elkader IA 52043 563-245-1145
Elkader City Hall 207 South Main Street Elkader IA 52043 563-245-2098
Farmersburg Clerk 208 South Main Street Farmersburg IA 52047 563-536-2390
Garber City Hall 604 Garber Road Garber IA 52048 563-255-1002
Garnavillo City Hall 106 E Chestnut St Garnavillo IA 52049 563-964-2331
Luana City Hall 304 Main Street Luana IA 52156 563-539-2296
Marquette City Hall 88 North St Marquette IA 52158 563-873-3735
McGregor City Hall 416 Main Street McGregor IA 52157 563-873-3795
Monona Town Clerk 104 East Center Street Monona IA 52159 563-539-2355
St Olaf City Clerk 109 South Main Street St. Olaf IA 52072 563-783-7777
Strawberry Point City Hall 111 Commercial Street Strawberry Point IA 52076 563-933-4482
Volga City Hall 505 Washington St Volga IA 52077 563-767-3511
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Clayton County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Clayton County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.