Search for Wright County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Wright County Marriage License 115 North Main Clarion IA 50525 515-532-3204
Belmond City Hall 112 2nd Avenue Northeast Belmond IA 50421 641-444-3386
Clarion City Hall 121 1st Street Southwest Clarion IA 50525 515-532-2847
Dows City Hall 119 East Ellsworth Street Dows IA 50071 515-852-4327
Eagle Grove City Clerk 210 East Broadway Street Eagle Grove IA 50533 515-448-5201
Eagle Grove City Hall 210 East Broadway Street Eagle Grove IA 50533 515-448-4343
Rowan City Hall 101 Main Street Rowan IA 50470 641-853-2345
Woolstock City Hall 101 Mission Woolstock IA 50599 515-839-5540
Wright County Clerk PO Box 306 Clarion IA 50525 515-532-3113
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Wright County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Wright County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.