Search for Black Hawk County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Black Hawk County Marriage License 316 East 5th Street Waterloo IA 50703 319-833-3012
Black Hawk County Clerk PO Box 9500 Waterloo IA 50704 319-833-3331
Cedar Falls City Hall 220 Clay Street Cedar Falls IA 50613 319-273-8600
Dunkerton City Hall 200 Tower Street Dunkerton IA 50626 319-822-4247
Evansdale City Hall 123 North Evans Road Evansdale IA 50707 319-232-6683
Gilbertville City Hall 1321 5th Street Gilbertville IA 50634 319-296-1822
Hudson Town Hall 525 Jefferson Street Hudson IA 50643 319-988-3600
La Porte City Hall 202 Main Street La Porte IA 50651 319-342-3396
Raymond City Hall 101 1st Street Raymond IA 50667 319-232-6153
Waterloo City Hall 715 Mulberry Street Waterloo IA 50703 319-291-4311
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Black Hawk County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Black Hawk County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.