Search for Jones County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Jones County Marriage License 500 West Main Street Anamosa IA 52205 319-462-2477
Anamosa City Hall 107 South Ford Street Anamosa IA 52205 319-462-6055
Jones County Clerk PO Box 19 Anamosa IA 52205 319-462-4341
Martelle City Hall 210 Iowa Street Martelle IA 52305 319-482-3381
Monticello City Clerk 200 East 1st Street Monticello IA 52310 319-465-3577
Monticello City Hall 200 East 1st Street Monticello IA 52310 319-465-3577
Onslow City Clerk 304 Summit Street Onslow IA 52321 563-485-2703
Oxford Junction City Hall 103 West Broadway Street Oxford Junction IA 52323 563-826-2400
Wyoming City Hall 141 West Main Street Wyoming IA 52362 563-488-3970
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Jones County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Jones County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.