Harrison County Marriage Licenses

Search for Harrison County IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Harrison County Marriage License 111 North 2nd Avenue Logan IA 51546 712-644-2545


Dunlap City Hall 716 Iowa Ave Dunlap IA 51529 712-643-5721

Harrison County Clerk 111 North 2nd Avenue Logan IA 51546 712-644-2665

Little Sioux City Clerk 407 1st Street Little Sioux IA 51545 712-649-2211

Logan City Hall 108 West 4th Street Logan IA 51546 712-644-2425

Missouri Valley City Clerk 223 East Erie Street Missouri Valley IA 51555 712-642-3502

Modale City Clerk 310 East Palmer Street Modale IA 51556 712-645-2601

Mondamin City Hall 120 South Main Street Mondamin IA 51557 712-646-2431

Persia City Hall 117 Main Street Persia IA 51563 712-488-3275

Pisgah City Hall 106 East Main Street Pisgah IA 51564 712-456-2408

Woodbine City Clerk 517 Walker St Woodbine IA 51579 712-647-2550

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony

8. License Valid: Does not expire

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Harrison County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.

How do I get a marriage license in Harrison County, Iowa?

You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?

A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.

How old do you have to be to get married in Harrison County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.