Search for Minnesota marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Minnesota?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in Minnesota?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 can get married if they obtain consent from both parents or legal guardians and court approval. The parents must submit a consent form to the judge of the district court in the county where the minor resides. If the judge grants approval, the minor can get married.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Minnesota.
Who can legally marry you in Minnesota?
The state of Minnesota recognizes a number of valid marriage officiants, including religious authorities and government officials, such as judges, clerks, or court commissioners. Officiants must be at least 21 years old.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Minnesota, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
Once the application is complete, the marriage license will be valid in five business days. You must get married before your marriage license expires, and the license is valid for 6 months.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Minnesota marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Minnesota, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, all prior marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application. You will need to list the date, place, and court in which a previous marriage ended or the date and place of death for a former spouse.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Minnesota.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Minnesota?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Minnesota.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. It is not legal to marry your cousin in Minnesota.
Is Minnesota a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Minnesota.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Minnesota state or county government, the Minnesota Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.