Carver County Marriage Licenses

Search for Carver County MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Carver County Marriage License Carver Auditor/Treasurer, 600 East 4Th Street Chaska MN 55318 952-361-1930


Carver City Hall 316 Broadway Street Carver MN 55315 952-448-5353

Carver County Clerk 604 East 4th Street Chaska MN 55318 218-547-7200

Chanhassen City Hall 7700 Market Boulevard Chanhassen MN 55317 952-227-1100

Chaska City Hall 1 City Hall Plaza Chaska MN 55318 952-448-2851

Cologne City Hall 110 Louis Street West Cologne MN 55322 952-466-2064

Hamburg City Hall 181 Broadway Avenue Hamburg MN 55339 952-467-3232

Hollywood Township Town Clerk 15575 Minnesota 7 Mayer MN 55360 952-657-1119

Laketown Hall 9530 Laketown Road Chaska MN 55318 952-442-5278

Victoria City Hall 7927 Rose Street Victoria MN 55386 952-443-3597

Waconia City Hall 201 South Vine Street Waconia MN 55387 952-442-2184

Watertown City Hall 309 Lewis Ave S Watertown MN 55388 952-955-2681

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval

3. Cost/fees: $40-$115

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Carver County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Carver County, Minnesota?

You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?

The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Carver County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.