Search for Carlton County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Carlton County Marriage License 301 Walnut Avenue Carlton MN 55718 218-384-9156
Barnum City Clerk 3741 Front Street Barnum MN 55707 218-389-6814
Barnum City Hall 3842 Main Street Barnum MN 55707 218-389-6814
Carlton City Hall 310 Chestnut Avenue Carlton MN 55718 218-384-4229
Carlton County Clerk 301 Walnut Avenue Carlton MN 55718 218-384-9577
Cloquet City Hall 1307 Cloquet Avenue Cloquet MN 55720 218-879-6758
Cromwell City Clerk 5541-5583 Minnesota 210 Cromwell MN 55726 218-644-3570
Kettle River City Hall 3977 Main Street Kettle River MN 55757 218-273-4662
Moose Lake City Clerk 412 4th Street Moose Lake MN 55767 218-485-4010
Scanlon City Clerk 2801 Dewey Ave Cloquet MN 55720 218-879-4578
Solway Town Hall 4029 Munger Shaw Road Cloquet MN 55720 218-729-5134
Wrenshall City Clerk 400 Alcohol Road Wrenshall MN 55797 218-384-3680
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Carlton County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Carlton County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.