Traverse County Marriage Licenses

Search for Traverse County MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Traverse County Marriage License Traverse County Recorder, 702 2Nd Avenue North Wheaton MN 56296 320-563-4622


Browns Valley City Hall 19 3RD St S Browns Valley MN 56219 320-695-2110

Tintah Town Hall 105 3rd Street Tintah MN 56583 218-369-2198

Traverse County Clerk 702 2nd Avenue North Wheaton MN 56296 320-422-7752

Wheaton City Hall 104 9th Street North Wheaton MN 56296 320-563-4110

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval

3. Cost/fees: $40-$115

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Traverse County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Traverse County, Minnesota?

You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?

The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Traverse County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.