Search for Winona County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Winona County Marriage License Winona County Vital Statistics, 74 West 3Rd Winona MN 55987 507-457-6395
Dakota City Hall 725 Interstate 90 Frontage Road Dakota MN 55925 507-643-6663
Dresbach Town Hall 46851 Riverview Drive La Crescent MN 55947 507-643-6854
Lewiston City Hall 30 West Main Street Lewiston MN 55952 507-523-2257
New Hartford Town Hall 42774 County Road 12 Dakota MN 55925 507-643-6550
Rollingstone Clerk 61 Main Street Rollingstone MN 55969 507-689-4110
St Charles City Hall 830 Whitewater Avenue St. Charles MN 55972 507-932-3020
Winona City Hall 207 Lafayette Street Winona MN 55987 507-457-8258
Winona County Clerk 171 West 3rd Street Winona MN 55987 507-457-6385
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Winona County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Winona County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.