Martin County Marriage Licenses

Search for Martin County MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Martin County Marriage License Martin County Recorder, 210 Lake Avenue Fairmont MN 56031 507-238-3213


Ceylon City Hall 301 West Main Street Ceylon MN 56121 507-632-4653

Ceylon Clerks 301 West Main Street Ceylon MN 56121 507-632-4653

Dunnel City Clerk 145 West Wenberg Street Dunnell MN 56127 507-695-2942

Fairmont City Hall 100 Downtown Plaza Fairmont MN 56031 507-238-9461

Martin County Clerk 201 Lake Avenue Fairmont MN 56031 507-537-6734

Martin County Health Department 115 West 1st Street Fairmont MN 56031 507-238-4757

Sherburn City Clerk 21 East 1st Street Sherburn MN 56171 507-764-4491

Trimont Clerk 41 2nd Avenue Northwest Trimont MN 56176 507-639-2060

Truman Clerk 101 East Ciro Street Truman MN 56088 507-776-7951

Welcome City Hall 102 South Dugan Street Welcome MN 56181 507-728-8740

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval

3. Cost/fees: $40-$115

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Martin County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Martin County, Minnesota?

You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?

The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Martin County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.