Search for Sherburne County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Sherburne County Marriage License Sherburne County Recorder, 13880 Hwy 10 Elk River MN 55330 612-241-2915
Becker City Hall 12060 Sherburne Avenue Becker MN 55308 763-261-4302
Big Lake City Hall 160 Lake Street North Big Lake MN 55309 763-263-2107
Big Lake Town Hall 21960 County Road 5 Big Lake MN 55309 763-263-8111
Elk River City Hall 13065 Orono Parkway Northwest Elk River MN 55330 763-635-1000
Haven Town Hall 4230 45th Avenue Southeast St. Cloud MN 56304 320-743-3717
Sherburne County Clerk 13880 Business Center Drive Northwest Elk River MN 55330 763-765-4600
Zimmerman City Hall 12980 Fremont Ave Zimmerman MN 55398 763-856-4666
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Sherburne County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Sherburne County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.