Search for Clay County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Clay County Marriage License Clay County Auditor/Treasurer, 807 North 11Th Street Moorhead MN 56560 218-299-5031
Clay County Clerk 807 11th Street North Moorhead MN 56560 218-299-5065
Dilworth City Hall 2 1st Avenue Southeast Dilworth MN 56529 218-287-2313
Glyndon Clerk 36 3rd Street Southeast Glyndon MN 56547 218-498-2578
Hawley City Hall 305 6th Street Hawley MN 56549 218-483-3331
Hitterdal City Hall 102 East Front Street Hitterdal MN 56552 218-962-3357
Moorhead City Hall # 3, 500 CENTER Ave Moorhead MN 56560 218-299-5301
Ulen City Clerk 116 Northern Pacific Avenue West Ulen MN 56585 218-596-8849
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Clay County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Clay County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.