Dakota County Marriage Licenses

List of Dakota County Marriage Licenses

Search for Dakota County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Burnsville City Clerk 100 Civic Center Parkway Burnsville MN 55337 952-895-4490

Burnsville City Hall 100 Civic Center Parkway Burnsville MN 55337 952-895-4400

Dakota County Clerk 1560 Highway 55 Hastings MN 55033 651-438-8100

Dakota County Health Department 1 West Mendota Road West Saint Paul MN 55118 651-554-6100

Dakota County Health Department 14955 Galaxie Avenue Apple Valley MN 55124 952-891-7500

Farmington City Hall 114 Spruce Street Farmington MN 55024 651-280-6960

Hampton City Hall 5370 Lincoln Street Hampton MN 55031 651-437-8846

Hastings City Hall 101 4th Street East Hastings MN 55033 651-480-2350

Inver Grove Heights City Clerk 8150 Barbara Ave Inver Grove Heights MN 55077 651-450-2513

Inver Grove Heights City Hall 8150 Barbara Ave Inver Grove Heights MN 55077 651-450-2500

Lakeville City Hall 20195 Holyoke Avenue Lakeville MN 55044 952-985-4400

Marshan Town Hall 12497 205th Street East Hastings MN 55033 651-437-2059

Randolph City Hall 4365 292nd Street East Randolph MN 55065 507-645-7492

Rosemount City Hall 2875 145th Street West Rosemount MN 55068 651-423-4411

Vermillion City Hall 105 Main Street East Vermillion MN 55085 651-437-8163

About Marriage Licenses

Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval

3. Cost/fees: $40-$115

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Dakota County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Dakota County, Minnesota?

You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?

The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Dakota County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.