Search for Dakota County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Burnsville City Clerk 100 Civic Center Parkway Burnsville MN 55337 952-895-4490
Burnsville City Hall 100 Civic Center Parkway Burnsville MN 55337 952-895-4400
Dakota County Clerk 1560 Highway 55 Hastings MN 55033 651-438-8100
Dakota County Health Department 1 West Mendota Road West Saint Paul MN 55118 651-554-6100
Dakota County Health Department 14955 Galaxie Avenue Apple Valley MN 55124 952-891-7500
Farmington City Hall 114 Spruce Street Farmington MN 55024 651-280-6960
Hampton City Hall 5370 Lincoln Street Hampton MN 55031 651-437-8846
Hastings City Hall 101 4th Street East Hastings MN 55033 651-480-2350
Inver Grove Heights City Clerk 8150 Barbara Ave Inver Grove Heights MN 55077 651-450-2513
Inver Grove Heights City Hall 8150 Barbara Ave Inver Grove Heights MN 55077 651-450-2500
Lakeville City Hall 20195 Holyoke Avenue Lakeville MN 55044 952-985-4400
Marshan Town Hall 12497 205th Street East Hastings MN 55033 651-437-2059
Randolph City Hall 4365 292nd Street East Randolph MN 55065 507-645-7492
Rosemount City Hall 2875 145th Street West Rosemount MN 55068 651-423-4411
Vermillion City Hall 105 Main Street East Vermillion MN 55085 651-437-8163
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Dakota County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Dakota County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.