Search for Freeborn County MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Freeborn County Marriage License Freeborn County Recorder, 411 South Broadway Albert Lea MN 56007 507-377-5130
Albert Lea City Hall 221 East Clark Street Albert Lea MN 56007 507-377-4300
Alden City Clerks 174 Water Street Alden MN 56009 507-874-3620
Clarks Grove City Hall 101 Independence Avenue North Clarks Grove MN 56016 507-256-4106
Conger City Hall 51 School Street South Alden MN 56009 507-265-3435
Emmons City Clerk 219 Main Street Emmons MN 56029 507-297-5707
Freeborn City Clerk 402 Park Street Freeborn MN 56032 507-863-2204
Freeborn City Hall 402 PARK St Freeborn MN 56032 507-863-2204
Freeborn County Clerk 411 South Broadway Avenue Albert Lea MN 56007 507-377-5163
Freeborn County Health Department 411 South Broadway Avenue Albert Lea MN 56007 507-377-5660
Hartland City Hall 407 Broadway Street Hartland MN 56042 507-845-2469
Twin Lakes City Hall 101 Main St W Twin Lakes MN 56089 507-852-2155
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Freeborn County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Freeborn County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.