Search for Fillmore County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Fillmore County Marriage License Fillmore County Auditor-Treasurer, 1 Courthouse Square Preston MN 55965 507-765-4701
Canton City Clerk 105 South Main Street Canton MN 55922 507-743-5000
Chatfield City Clerk 21 2nd Street Southeast Chatfield MN 55923 507-867-3810
Fillmore County Clerk 101 Fillmore Street East Preston MN 55965 507-765-3356
Fillmore County Health Department 902 Houston Street Northwest Preston MN 55965 507-765-3898
Fountain City Clerk 104 Main Street Fountain MN 55935 507-268-4923
Harmony Clerk 225 3rd Avenue Southeast Harmony MN 55939 507-886-8122
Lanesboro City Clerk 202 Parkway Avenue North Lanesboro MN 55949 507-467-3722
Mabel City Clerk 207 North Main Street Mabel MN 55954 507-493-5299
Peterson City Clerk 118 Fillmore Street Peterson MN 55962 507-875-2222
Preble Town Hall 18132 Minnesota 43 Mabel MN 55954 507-493-5636
Rushford City Clerk 101 North Mill Street Rushford MN 55971 507-864-2444
Spring Valley City Clerk 201 South Broadway Avenue Spring Valley MN 55975 507-346-7367
Spring Valley City Hall 201 South Broadway Avenue Spring Valley MN 55975 507-346-7249
Wykoff City Clerk 217 North Gold Street Wykoff MN 55990 507-352-4011
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Fillmore County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Fillmore County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.