Renville County Marriage Licenses

Search for Renville County MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Redwood County Marriage License Redwood County Recorder, Courthouse Square Redwood Falls MN 56283 507-637-4032


Renville County Marriage License Renville County Recorder, 500 East De Pue Olivia MN 56277 320-523-3669

Bird Island Clerk 660 Birch Avenue Bird Island MN 55310 320-365-3371

Buffalo Lake City Clerk 203 Main Street Buffalo Lake MN 55314 320-833-2272

Morton City Clerk 221 West 2nd Street Morton MN 56270 507-697-6912

Olivia City Hall 1009 West Lincoln Avenue Olivia MN 56277 320-523-2361

Renville City Hall 221 Main Street South Renville MN 56284 320-329-8366

Renville County Clerk 500 East Depue Avenue Olivia MN 56277 320-523-3680

Renville County Health Department Ste 119H, 105 S 5th St Olivia MN 56277 320-523-2570

Sacred Heart City Clerk 309 1st Avenue Sacred Heart MN 56285 320-765-2559

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval

3. Cost/fees: $40-$115

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Renville County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Renville County, Minnesota?

You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?

The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Renville County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.