Search for Polk County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Polk County Marriage License Polk County Recorder, 612 North Broadway Crookston MN 56716 218-281-3464
Crookston City Clerk 124 North Broadway Crookston MN 56716 218-281-1232
Crookston City Hall 124 North Broadway Crookston MN 56716 218-281-4503
East Grand Forks Clerk 600 Demers Avenue East Grand Forks MN 56721 218-773-2483
Erskine City Hall 105 East Ross Avenue Erskine MN 56535 218-687-4646
Fisher City Hall 313 Park Avenue Fisher MN 56723 218-891-2207
Fosston City Clerk 220 1st Street East Fosston MN 56542 218-435-1959
McIntosh City Clerk 115 Northwest Broadway McIntosh MN 56556 218-563-3043
McIntosh City Hall 115 Northwest Broadway McIntosh MN 56556 218-563-3388
Mentor City Clerk GARFIELD Ave Mentor MN 56736 218-637-2911
Nielsville City Hall 215 U.s. 75 Nielsville MN 56568 218-946-3205
Winger City Hall 271 E Wisconsin Ave Winger MN 56592 218-938-9992
Winger Clerk 10 Minnesota Avenue Winger MN 56592 218-938-4150
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Polk County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Polk County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.