Kandiyohi County Marriage Licenses

Search for Kandiyohi County MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Kandiyohi County Marriage License Kandiyohi County Recorder, 400 Benson Avenue Sw Willmar MN 56201 320-231-6223


Atwater City Clerk 322 Atlantic Avenue Atwater MN 56209 320-974-8760

Cosmos City Hall 322 Atlantic Avenue Atwater MN 56209 320-877-7345

Kandiyohi City Clerk 344 Atlantic Avenue Kandiyohi MN 56251 320-382-6110

Kandiyohi County Clerk 505 Becker Avenue Southwest Willmar MN 56201 320-231-6206

Lake Lillian City Clerk 531 Lakeview St Lake Lillian MN 56253 320-664-4440

New London City Clerk 20 1st Avenue Southwest New London MN 56273 320-354-2444

Pennock City Clerk 205 Northwest 2nd Street Pennock MN 56279 320-599-4546

Willmar City Clerk 333 6th Street Southwest Willmar MN 56201 320-235-4913

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval

3. Cost/fees: $40-$115

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Kandiyohi County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Kandiyohi County, Minnesota?

You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?

The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Kandiyohi County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.