Cass County Marriage Licenses

Search for Cass County MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Cass County Marriage License 300 Minnesota Avenue West Walker MN 56484 218-547-3300


Backus Clerk 112 King Street Backus MN 56435 218-947-3221

Bena City Hall 38 County Road 8 Bena MN 56626 218-665-2261

Cass County Clerk 300 Minnesota Avenue West Walker MN 56484 218-547-7200

Cass Lake City Hall 330 2nd Street Northwest Cass Lake MN 56633 218-335-2238

Federal Dam City Hall 222 Main Street Federal Dam MN 56641 218-654-3046

Hackensack Clerk 208 1st Street North Hackensack MN 56452 218-675-6400

Longville City Hall 5220 Minnesota 84 Longville MN 56655 218-363-2022

Outing Town Hall 5292 Lake Washburn Road Northeast Outing MN 56662 218-792-5315

Pike Bay Town Hall 15514 State Highway 371 Cass Lake MN 56633 218-335-2071

Powers Township Town Hall 850 East Horseshoe Drive Northwest Backus MN 56435 218-947-3687

Shingobee Town Hall 7941 Townhall Road Northwest Walker MN 56484 218-547-3816

Sylvan Town Hall 12956 24th Avenue Southwest Pillager MN 56473 218-746-3652

Wabedo Town Hall 3726 County Road 54 Northeast Longville MN 56655 218-363-2910

Walker City Hall 513 Front Street Walker MN 56484 218-547-5503

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval

3. Cost/fees: $40-$115

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Cass County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Cass County, Minnesota?

You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?

The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Cass County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.