Search for Hennepin County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Champlin City Hall 11955 Champlin Drive Champlin MN 55316 763-421-1955
Corcoran City Clerk 8200 County Road 116 Corcoran MN 55340 763-420-2288
Eden Prairie Clerk 8080 Mitchell Road Eden Prairie MN 55344 952-949-8414
Hanover City Hall 11250 5th St NE Hanover MN 55341 763-497-3777
Hassan Town Hall 22350 South Diamond Lake Road Rogers MN 55374 763-428-4100
Head Start Town Hall 8500 Zane Avenue North Minneapolis MN 55443 763-425-7422
Hennepin County Clerk 300 South 6th Street Minneapolis MN 55487 612-348-7574
Hennepin County Health Department 525 Portland Avenue Minneapolis MN 55415 612-348-3925
Hopkins City Hall 1010 1st Street South Hopkins MN 55343 952-935-8474
Long Lake City Clerk 450 Virginia Avenue Long Lake MN 55356 952-473-6961
Long Lake City Hall 450 Virginia Avenue Long Lake MN 55356 952-473-6961
Loretto City Hall 259 North Medina Street Loretto MN 55357 763-479-4305
Maple Plain City Hall 1620 Maple Avenue Maple Plain MN 55359 763-479-0515
Minneapolis City Clerk 350 South 5th Street Minneapolis MN 55415 612-673-2215
Minneapolis City Hall 350 South 5th Street Minneapolis MN 55415 612-673-3000
Minneapolis City Health Department 250 South 4th Street Minneapolis MN 55415 612-673-2963
Minnetonka City Hall 14600 Minnetonka Boulevard Minnetonka MN 55345 952-939-8200
Osseo City Hall 415 Central Avenue Osseo MN 55369 763-425-2624
Rogers City Hall 22350 South Diamond Lake Road Rogers MN 55374 763-428-2253
Saint Bonifacius City Hall 8655 Kennedy Memorial Drive St. Bonifacius MN 55375 952-446-9572
Spring Park City Hall 4349 Warren Avenue Spring Park MN 55384 952-471-9051
Tonka Bay City Hall 4901 Manitou Road Excelsior MN 55331 952-474-7994
Wayzata City Hall 600 Rice St E Wayzata MN 55391 952-404-5300
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Hennepin County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Hennepin County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.