Search for Douglas County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Douglas County Marriage License Douglas County Recorder, 305 8Th Avenue West Alexandria MN 56308 320-762-3877
Alexandria City Clerk 501 3rd Avenue West Alexandria MN 56308 320-763-6678
Carlos Town Hall 210 Victoria Avenue Carlos MN 56319 320-852-6958
Douglas County Clerk 305 8th Avenue West Alexandria MN 56308 320-762-3033
Evansville City Hall 106 State Street Evansville MN 56326 320-834-4995
Garfield City Hall 116 West Sanstead Street Garfield MN 56332 320-834-2238
La Grande Town Hall 501 Town Hall Road Northwest Alexandria MN 56308 320-763-7482
Millerville City Hall 10902 County Road 16 Northwest Evansville MN 56326 320-876-2295
Osakis City Hall 14 East Nokomis Street Osakis MN 56360 320-859-2150
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Douglas County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Douglas County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.