Search for Washington County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Dakota County Marriage License Dakota County Auditor/Treasurer, Vital Statistics, 1590 West Highway 55, Floor 2 Hastings MN 55033 651-438-4313
Washington County Marriage License Washington County Vital Records, License Center, River Heights Plaza, 1520 West Frontage Rd. Stillwater MN 55082 651-430-6176
Afton City Hall 3033 Saint Croix Trail South Afton MN 55001 651-436-5090
Bayport City Hall 294 3rd Street North Bayport MN 55003 651-275-4404
Denmark Town Hall 14008 90th Street South Hastings MN 55033 651-436-1704
Forest Lake City Hall 220 Lake St N Forest Lake MN 55025 651-464-3550
Forest Lake Clerk 220 Lake Street North Forest Lake MN 55025 651-464-3550
Hugo City Hall 14669 Fitzgerald Avenue North Hugo MN 55038 651-762-6300
Lake Elmo City Hall 3800 Laverne Avenue North Lake Elmo MN 55042 651-777-5510
Lakeland City Hall 690 Quinnell Avenue North Lakeland MN 55043 651-436-4430
Lakeland Town Hall 690 Quinnell Avenue North Lakeland MN 55043 651-436-8118
Mahtomedi City Hall 600 Stillwater Road Mahtomedi MN 55115 651-426-3344
Marine On St Croix City Hall 121 Judd Street Marine on Saint Croix MN 55047 651-433-3636
Newport City Hall 596 7th Ave Newport MN 55055 651-459-5677
Nininger Town Hall 1175 Nininger Rd Hastings MN 55033 651-437-4282
Stillwater City Hall 216 4th Street North Stillwater MN 55082 651-430-8800
Washington County Clerk 14949 62nd Street North Stillwater MN 55082 651-430-6263
Washington County Health Department 14949 62nd Street North Stillwater MN 55082 651-430-6655
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Washington County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Washington County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.