Search for Rice County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Rice County Marriage License Rice County Recorder, 218 Nw 3Rd Street Faribault MN 52701 507-332-6114
Dennison City Hall 37622 Goodhue Ave Dennison MN 55018 507-645-7732
Dundas City Hall 216 Railway Street North Dundas MN 55019 507-645-2852
Faribault City Clerk 208 1st Avenue Northwest Faribault MN 55021 507-333-0353
Faribault City Hall 208 1st Ave NW Faribault MN 55021 507-334-2222
Morristown City Clerk 402 Division St S Morristown MN 55052 507-685-2302
Nerstrand City Hall 221 Main Street Nerstrand MN 55053 507-332-8000
Northfield City Hall 801 Washington Street Northfield MN 55057 507-645-8833
Rice County Clerk 218 3rd Street Northwest Faribault MN 55021 507-332-6107
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Rice County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Rice County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.