Big Stone County Marriage Licenses

Search for Big Stone County MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Big Stone County Marriage License Big Stone County Recorder, 20 2Nd Street Se Ortonville MN 56278 320-839-2308


Big Stone County Clerk 20 2nd Street Southeast Ortonville MN 56278 320-839-2536

Graceville City Hall 415 Studdart Avenue Graceville MN 56240 320-748-7911

Ortonville Health Department Ste 104, 47 2nd St NW Ortonville MN 56278 320-839-6135

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval

3. Cost/fees: $40-$115

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Big Stone County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Big Stone County, Minnesota?

You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?

The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Big Stone County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.