Search for Meeker County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Meeker County Marriage License Meeker County Treasurer, 325 North Sibley Litchfield MN 55355 320-693-5345
Eden Valley City Hall 171 Cossairt Avenue Eden Valley MN 55329 320-453-5251
Grove City Clerk 210 Atlantic Avenue Grove MN 56243 320-857-2322
Litchfield City Hall 126 North Marshall Avenue Litchfield MN 55355 320-693-6832
Meeker County Clerk 325 North Sibley Avenue Litchfield MN 55355 320-693-5230
Meeker County Health Department 114 North Holcombe Avenue Litchfield MN 55355 320-693-5370
Watkins City Clerk 111 Central Avenue South Watkins MN 55389 320-764-6400
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Meeker County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Meeker County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.