Lyon County Marriage Licenses

Search for Lyon County MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Lyon County Marriage License Lyon County Recorder, 607 West Main Marshall MN 56258 507-537-6722


Balaton City Hall 134 3rd Street Balaton MN 56115 507-734-4711

Cottonwood Clerk's Office 86 East Main Street Cottonwood MN 56229 507-423-6488

Ghent Clerk 107 North Chapman Street Ghent MN 56239 507-428-3214

Lynd City Hall 111 West Railroad Street Lynd MN 56157 507-865-4514

Lyon County Clerk 607 West Main Street Marshall MN 56258 320-864-1281

Marshall City Clerk 344 West Main Street Marshall MN 56258 507-537-6763

Marshall City Hall 344 West Main Street Marshall MN 56258 507-537-6760

Minneota City Clerk 129 East 1st Street Minneota MN 56264 507-872-6144

Minnesota Department Of Health 1400 East Lyon Street Marshall MN 56258 507-537-7151

Russel City Clerk 106 North River Street Russell MN 56169 507-823-4366

Russell Town Hall 200 Front Street Russell MN 56169 507-823-4347

Tracy City Clerk 336 Morgan Street Tracy MN 56175 507-629-5528

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval

3. Cost/fees: $40-$115

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Lyon County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Lyon County, Minnesota?

You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?

The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Lyon County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.