Search for Scott County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Scott County Marriage License Scott County Recorder Shakopee MN 55379 612-496-8143
Belle Plaine City Hall 218 N Meridian St Belle Plaine MN 56011 952-873-5553
Credit River Town Hall 18985 Meadow View Blvd Prior Lake MN 55372 952-440-5617
Elko New Market City Hall 601 Main Street Elko New Market MN 55054 952-461-2777
Jordan City Hall 210 1st Street East Jordan MN 55352 952-492-2535
New Prague City Hall 118 Central Avenue North New Prague MN 56071 952-758-4401
Prior Lake City Hall 4646 Dakota Street Southeast Prior Lake MN 55372 952-447-9800
Savage City Hall 6000 Mc Coll Drive Savage MN 55378 952-882-2660
Scott County Clerk 200 4th Avenue West Shakopee MN 55379 952-496-8200
Scott County Public Health 792 Canterbury Road Shakopee MN 55379 952-496-8520
Shakopee City Hall 129 Holmes Street South Shakopee MN 55379 952-233-9391
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Scott County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Scott County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.