Search for Houston County, MN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Houston County Marriage License Houston County Recorder, 304 South Marshall Street Caledonia MN 55921 507-725-5183
Blackhammer Town Hall 16677 County 4 Spring Grove MN 55974 507-498-3360
Brownsville City Clerk 104 North 6th Street Brownsville MN 55919 507-482-6732
Caledonia City Hall 231 East Main Street Caledonia MN 55921 507-725-3450
Eitzen City Hall 202 East Main Street Eitzen MN 55931 507-495-3017
Hokah City Clerk 102 Main Street Hokah MN 55941 507-894-4990
Houston City Clerk 105 West Maple Street Houston MN 55943 507-896-4033
Houston County Clerk 306 South Marshall Street Caledonia MN 55921 507-725-5806
La Crescent City Clerk 315 Main Street La Crescent MN 55947 507-895-2595
La Crescent City Hall 315 Main Street La Crescent MN 55947 507-895-2595
Spring Grove City Hall 118 1st Avenue Northwest Spring Grove MN 55974 507-498-5221
Spring Grove Clerk 118 1st Street Northwest Spring Grove MN 55974 507-498-5221
Spring Grove Town Hall 20096 County Road 4 Spring Grove MN 55974 507-498-3839
Wilmington Town Hall 14753 County Road 17 Spring Grove MN 55974 507-498-5115
1. Apply where: County Courthouse or Service Center
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and court approval
3. Cost/fees: $40-$115
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Minnesota, both members of the couple must visit a County Courthouse or Service Center in person to submit a marriage license application. The required paperwork can be completed in advance either online or by downloading and printing the documents, or it can be filled out at the County Courthouse or Service Center. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Houston County, Minnesota?
You will need to visit a County Courthouse or Service Center to apply for a marriage license. The paperwork can be completed in advance, but you must provide identification and pay the fee in person. If one or both parties has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Minnesota?
The fee for a marriage license is $115 in Minnesota. However, it will be lowered to $40 if the couple completes the recommended Premarital Education course prior to their application for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Houston County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Minnesota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and court approval to get married.