New York Marriage Licenses

Search for New York marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

About Marriage Licenses

Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35-$40

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military

9. Waiting Period: 24 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about New York Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in New York?

You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?

In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.

How old do you have to be to get married in New York?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.

Can you get married under 18 in New York?

Yes. Individuals who are under 18 can get married in New York, but they must provide proof of age and show parental consent in order to get married. Individuals who are under the age of 16 must also have approval from the Judge of the Supreme Court or Family Court. The minimum age to marry in New York is 14.

Do you need a blood test to get married?

No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in New York.

Who can legally marry you in New York?

The state of New York recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities as well as government officials, such as judges, mayors, city clerks, and marriage officers. Officiants who perform marriage ceremonies within New York City must register with the city clerk. The registration requirement does not apply to marriage ceremonies performed anywhere else in New York State.

Do you need a witness to get married?

Yes. In New York, one witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. The witness must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.

How long does it take to get a marriage license in New York?

After applying for a marriage license, there is a 24 hour waiting period before the license becomes valid. However, you can apply for a Judicial Waiver to get married immediately. The marriage license is valid for 60 days, or 180 days for people in the military, and you must perform the marriage ceremony before the license expires.

What can you do when your marriage license expires?

If your New York marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.

What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?

In New York, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, all previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application, including the name(s) of former spouses and the location and date of the end of prior marriages.

Can you get married by proxy?

No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in New York.

Is same-sex marriage legal in New York?

Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in New York.

Can you marry your cousin?

Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in New York.

Is New York a common law marriage state?

No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of New York.

How do you change your name after getting married?

You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the New York state or county government, the New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.