Search for Albany County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Albany City Hall 24 Eagle Street Albany NY 12207 518-434-5284
Albany County Clerk 112 State Street Albany NY 12207 518-447-7168
Albany County Health Department 260 South Pearl Street Albany NY 12202 518-447-4555
Albany Health Department 5 Empire State Plz Albany NY 12223 518-474-2011
Albany Presbytery Clerk 601 5th Avenue Watervliet NY 12189 518-273-3390
Berne Town Clerk 1656 Helderberg Trl Berne NY 12023 518-872-1448
Cohoes City Clerk 97 Mohawk Street Cohoes NY 12047 518-233-2140
Cohoes City Hall 97 Mohawk Street Cohoes NY 12047 518-233-2119
Colonie Town Clerk 534 New Loudon Road Latham NY 12110 518-783-2734
Colonie Town Hall 629 Albany Shaker Road Albany NY 12211 518-810-0312
Colonie Town Hall 347 Old Niskayuna Road Latham NY 12110 518-783-2867
Guilderland Town Clerk 5209 Western Avenue Altamont NY 12009 518-356-1980
Guilderland Town Hall 5209 Western Turnpike Altamont NY 12009 518-356-1501
Knox Town Hall 2192 Berne Altamont Rd Altamont NY 12009 518-872-2551
New Scotland Town Clerk 2029 New Scotland Road Slingerlands NY 12159 518-439-4865
New York State Health Department 161 Delaware Avenue Delmar NY 12054 518-478-1000
New York State Health Department 150 Broad Street Albany NY 12202 518-402-7090
Ravena City Clerk 15 Russell Avenue Ravena NY 12143 518-756-2100
Rensselaerville Town Hall 87 Barger Road Medusa NY 12120 518-797-3798
Watervliet City Hall 2 15th Street Watervliet NY 12189 518-270-3800
Watervliet Clerk 2 15th Street Watervliet NY 12189 518-270-3810
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Albany County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Albany County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.