Search for Jefferson County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Adams Town Clerk 13263 US Route 11 Adams Center NY 13606 315-583-5701
Adams Village Clerk 3 S Main St Adams NY 13605 315-232-2632
Alexandria Town Clerk 46372 County Road 1 Alexandria Bay NY 13607 315-482-9519
Brownville Village Clerk 216 Brown Boulevard Watertown NY 13601 315-782-7650
Cape Vincent Clerk 127 East Joseph Street Cape Vincent NY 13618 315-654-2533
Ellisburg Town Hall 11574 S Main St Ellisburg NY 13636 315-846-5138
Ellsiburg Village Town Hall 11832 Main Street Ellisburg NY 13636 315-846-5222
Jefferson County Clerk 175 Arsenal Street Watertown NY 13601 315-785-3075
Mannsville Village Clerk 106 Lilac Park Drive Mannsville NY 13661 315-465-5515
Rodman Town Hall 12509 School Street Rodman NY 13682 315-232-2522
Rutland Town Clerk 28411 State Route 126 Black River NY 13612 315-788-3440
Sackets Harbor Village Clerk 112 North Broad Street Sackets Harbor NY 13685 315-646-3548
Watertown City Hall 245 Washington Street Watertown NY 13601 315-785-7770
Worth Town Clerk 6400 County Route 95 Lorraine NY 13659 315-232-4647
Worth Town Hall 24600 County Route 189 Lorraine NY 13659 315-232-4694
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Jefferson County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Jefferson County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.