Orleans County Marriage Licenses

Search for Orleans County NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Albion Town Hall 3665 Clarendon Road Albion NY 14411 585-589-7048


Clarendon Town Hall 16385 Church Street Holley NY 14470 585-638-6371

Gaines Town Hall 14087 Ridge Road West Albion NY 14411 585-589-4592

Kendall Town Clerk 1873 Kendall Road Kendall NY 14476 585-659-8721

Lydonville Village Clerk 2 South Main Street Lyndonville NY 14098 585-765-9385

Orleans County Clerk 3 South Main Street Albion NY 14411 585-589-7053

Orleans County Health Department 14012 Highway 31 Albion NY 14411 585-589-3278

Ridgeway Town Hall 410 West Avenue Medina NY 14103 585-798-0730

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35-$40

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military

9. Waiting Period: 24 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Orleans County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Orleans County, New York?

You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?

In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.

How old do you have to be to get married in Orleans County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.