Search for Herkimer County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Frankfort Town Hall 140 South Litchfield Street Frankfort NY 13340 315-894-8737
Frankfort Village Clerk 110 Railroad Street Frankfort NY 13340 315-895-7651
German Flatts Town Clerk 66 East Main Street Mohawk NY 13407 315-866-1370
Herkimer County Clerk 109 Mary Street Herkimer NY 13350 315-867-1112
Herkimer County Health Department 301 North Washington Street Herkimer NY 13350 315-867-1176
Ilion Village Clerk 49 Morgan Street Ilion NY 13357 315-895-7449
Little Falls City Hall 659 East Main Street Little Falls NY 13365 315-823-2400
Little Falls Town Hall 478 Flint Avenue Ext Little Falls NY 13365 315-823-1202
Middleville Village Clerk 3 South Main Street Middleville NY 13406 315-891-7645
New York State Health Department 5665 Highway 5 Herkimer NY 13350 315-866-6879
Norway Town Clerk 424 Hurricane Road Cold Brook NY 13324 315-826-7261
Poland Village Clerk 9 Case Street Poland NY 13431 315-826-3141
Webb Town Clerk 3140 New York 28 Old Forge NY 13420 315-369-6799
Winfield Town Clerk 306 Stone Road West Winfield NY 13491 315-822-5795
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Herkimer County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Herkimer County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.