Search for Putnam County NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Kent Town Hall 40 Sybils Crossing Carmel NY 10512 845-225-1606
Patterson Town Hall 1142 New York 311 Patterson NY 12563 845-878-6500
Philipstown Towon Clerk 238 Main Street Cold Spring NY 10516 845-265-3329
Putnam County Clerk 40 Gleneida Avenue Carmel NY 10512 914-225-3641
Putnam County Health Department 1 Geneva Road Brewster NY 10509 845-808-1340
Putnam Valley Clerk 265 Oscawana Lake Road Putnam Valley NY 10579 845-526-2160
Putnam Valley Town Hall 265 Oscawana Lake Road Putnam Valley NY 10579 845-526-2121
Southeast Town Clerk 1360 New York 22 Brewster NY 10509 845-279-2196
Southeast Town Hall 1360 New York 22 Brewster NY 10509 845-279-4313
Southeast Town Hall 1360 New York 22 Brewster NY 10509 845-278-2096
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Putnam County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Putnam County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.