Search for Rockland County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Grand View-on-Hudson Village Clerk 118 River Road Grand View-on-Hudson NY 10960 845-358-2919
Haverstraw Town Clerk 1 Rosman Road Thiells NY 10923 845-362-1001
Haverstraw Town Hall 1 Rosman Road Thiells NY 10923 845-362-1001
Orangetown Town Clerk 26 West Orangeburg Road Orangeburg NY 10962 845-359-5100
Piermont Village Clerk 478 Piermont Avenue Piermont NY 10968 845-359-1258
Pomona Village Clerk 100 Ladentown Road Pomona NY 10970 845-354-0545
Ramapo Town Clerk 237 New York 59 Suffern NY 10901 845-357-5100
Ramapo Town Hall 237 New York 59 Suffern NY 10901 845-357-5100
Rockland County Clerk 11 New Hempstead Road New City NY 10956 315-379-2276
Rockland County Health Department 50 Sanatorium Road Pomona NY 10970 845-364-2000
Spring Valley Village Clerk 200 North Main Street Spring Valley NY 10977 845-573-5808
Stony Point Town Clerk 74 East Main Street Stony Point NY 10980 845-786-2716
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Rockland County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Rockland County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.