Search for Ontario County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Bristol Town Hall 6740 County Road 32 Canandaigua NY 14424 585-229-2400
Canandaigua City Hall 2 North Main Street Canandaigua NY 14424 585-396-5000
Clifton Springs Clerk 1 West Main Street Clifton Springs NY 14432 315-462-5151
Farmington Town Hall 1000 County Road 8 Farmington NY 14425 315-986-8100
Geneva City Hall 47 Castle Street Geneva NY 14456 315-789-2603
Geneva Town Clerk 3750 County Road 6 Geneva NY 14456 315-789-3922
Hopewell Town Clerk 2716 County Road 47 Canandaigua NY 14424 585-394-0036
Manchester Village Clerk 8 Clifton Street Manchester NY 14504 585-289-4340
Naples Village Clerk 106 South Main Street Naples NY 14512 585-374-2435
Ontario County Clerk 20 Ontario Street Canandaigua NY 14424 585-396-4447
Ontario County Health Department 3019 County Complex Drive Canandaigua NY 14424 585-396-4343
Phelps Town Hall 79 Main Street Phelps NY 14532 315-548-2973
Phelps Village Clerk 8 Banta Street Phelps NY 14532 315-548-3861
Richmond Town Clerk 8690 Main Street Honeoye NY 14471 585-229-5757
Seneca Town Clerk 3675 Flint Road Stanley NY 14561 585-526-5251
Seneca Town Hall 3675 Flint Rd Stanley NY 14561 585-526-5595
Shortsville Clerk 6 East Main Street Shortsville NY 14548 585-289-6104
South Bristol Town Hall 6500 W Gannett Hill Rd Naples NY 14512 585-374-6341
Victor Town Clerk 85 East Main Street Victor NY 14564 585-742-5080
Victor Town Hall 85 East Main Street Victor NY 14564 585-924-0202
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Ontario County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Ontario County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.