Search for Chautauqua County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Arkwright Town Clerk 3381 Tarbox Road Cassadaga NY 14718 716-595-2175
Arkwright Town Hall 9543 Center Road Fredonia NY 14063 716-679-4445
Brocton Deputy Clerk 34 West Main Street Brocton NY 14716 716-792-4160
Carroll Town Hall 5 - West Main Street Frewsburg NY 14738 716-569-5365
Celoron Village Clerk 21 Boulevard Avenue Jamestown NY 14701 716-487-4175
Chautauqua County Clerk 3 North Erie Street Mayville NY 14757 716-753-4541
Chautauqua County Health Department 1136 Central Avenue Dunkirk NY 14048 716-363-3660
Clymer Town Clerk 595 Freeman Road Clymer NY 14724 716-355-2230
Dunkirk City Hall 342 Central Avenue Dunkirk NY 14048 716-366-0452
Ellington Town Hall 813 West Main Street Kennedy NY 14747 716-287-2026
Falconer Clerk 101 West Main Street Falconer NY 14733 716-665-4400
Forestville Village Clerk 18 Chestnut Street Forestville NY 14062 716-965-2921
Gerry Town Clerk 4519 New York 60 Gerry NY 14740 716-985-4715
Gerry Town Hall 4519 Route 60 Gerry NY 14740 716-985-4715
Hanover Town Hall 68 Hanover Street Silver Creek NY 14136 716-934-2920
Jamestown City Hall 200 East 3rd Street Jamestown NY 14701 716-483-7612
Jamestown Health Department 110 E 4th St Jamestown NY 14701 716-661-8111
Mina Clerk 2883 North Road Sherman NY 14781 716-769-7204
Mina Town Hall 2883 North Road Sherman NY 14781 716-769-7250
Sheridan Town Hall 2702 Route 20 Sheridan NY 14135 716-672-4174
Sinclairville Clerk 8 Lester Street Sinclairville NY 14782 716-962-9455
Stockton Town Clerk 5823 Route 380 Sinclairville NY 14782 716-595-3192
Westfield Clerk 23 Elm Street Westfield NY 14787 716-326-4961
Westfield Town Hall 23 Elm Street Westfield NY 14787 716-326-3211
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Chautauqua County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Chautauqua County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.