Search for Genesee County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Alabama Town Hall 2218 Judge Road Oakfield NY 14125 585-948-9341
Batavia City Hall 1 Batavia City Center Batavia NY 14020 585-345-6300
Bergen Town Hall 10 Hunter Street Bergen NY 14416 585-494-1121
Bergen Village Clerk 11 North Lake Avenue Bergen NY 14416 585-494-1513
Bethany Town Hall 10510 Bethany Center Road East Bethany NY 14054 585-343-1399
Byron Town Hall 7028 Route 237 Byron NY 14422 585-548-7123
Darien Town Hall 10569 Alleghany Road Darien Center NY 14040 585-547-2274
Genesee County Clerk 7 Main Street Batavia NY 14020 585-344-2550
Le Roy Town Clerk 48 Main Street Le Roy NY 14482 585-768-6910
Pembroke Town Hall 2461 Main Rd Corfu NY 14036 585-762-8246
Stafford Town Hall 8780 Sanders Road Stafford NY 14143 585-343-2907
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Genesee County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Genesee County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.