Search for Livingston County NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Caledonia Town Hall 3109 Main Street Caledonia NY 14423 585-538-4927
Caledonia Village Clerk 3095 Main Street Caledonia NY 14423 585-538-6565
Canadice Town Hall 5949 County Road 37 Springwater NY 14560 585-367-2050
Conesus Town Clerk 6224 Conesus Springwater Road Conesus NY 14435 585-346-3130
Conesus Town Hall 6224 Conesus Springwater Road Conesus NY 14435 585-346-3130
Geneseo Town Clerk 4600-4630 Millennium Drive Geneseo NY 14454 585-991-5000
Groveland Town Clerk 4955 Aten Road Groveland NY 14462 585-243-1750
Leicester Town Hall 132 Main Street Leicester NY 14481 585-382-9419
Leicester Village Clerk 52 S Parkway Leicester NY 14481 585-382-3699
Lima Town Hall 7329 East Main Street Lima NY 14485 585-582-1130
Livingston County Clerk 6 Court Street Geneseo NY 14454 585-243-7030
Livonia Town Hall 35 Commercial Street Livonia NY 14487 585-346-6200
Livonia Village Clerk 36 Commercial Street Livonia NY 14487 585-346-3100
MT Morris Village Clerk 117 Main Street Mount Morris NY 14510 585-658-4160
Ossian Town Hall 4706 Ossian Hill Road Dansville NY 14437 585-335-7600
West Sparta Town Hall 8302 Kysorville Byersville Road Dansville NY 14437 585-335-2443
York Town Hall 2668 Main Street Piffard NY 14533 585-243-3128
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Livingston County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Livingston County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.