Search for Wayne County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Arcadia Town Hall 100 East Miller Street Newark NY 14513 315-331-1222
Clyde Village Clerk 6 South Park Street Clyde NY 14433 315-923-3971
Galen Town Hall 6 South Park Street Clyde NY 14433 315-923-7259
Huron Town Hall 10880 Lummisville Road Wolcott NY 14590 315-594-8074
Macedon Town Hall 32 West Main Street Macedon NY 14502 315-986-5932
Marion Town Clerk 3823 North Main Street Marion NY 14505 315-926-4271
Newark Village Clerk 100 East Miller Street Newark NY 14513 315-331-4770
Ontario Town Clerk 1850 Ridge Road Ontario NY 14519 315-524-3441
Palmyra Town Hall 1180 Canandaigua Road Palmyra NY 14522 315-597-2324
Savannah Town Clerk 1564 North Main Street Savannah NY 13146 315-365-2811
Savannah Town Hall 1564 North Main Street Savannah NY 13146 315-365-2811
Sodus Town Clerk 14 Mill Street Sodus NY 14551 315-483-6934
Walworth Clerk 3600 Lorraine Drive Walworth NY 14568 315-986-8544
Walworth Town Hall 3600 Lorraine Drive Walworth NY 14568 315-986-1400
Wayne County Clerk 26 Church Street Lyons NY 14489 315-946-5403
Williamson Town Clerk 6380 Route 21 South Williamson NY 14589 315-589-8100
Wolcot Town Clerk 6070 Lake Avenue Wolcott NY 14590 315-594-9431
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Wayne County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Wayne County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.