Search for Greene County NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Athens Village Clerk 2 1st Street Athens NY 12015 518-945-1551
Cairo Town Clerk 512 Main St Cairo NY 12413 518-622-3120
Cairo Town Hall 512 Main Street Cairo NY 12413 518-622-9218
Durham Town Clerk 7309 New York 81 East Durham NY 12423 518-239-6122
Greene County Clerk 411 Main Street Catskill NY 12414 518-719-3270
Greene Health Department 411 Main Street Catskill NY 12414 518-719-3600
Greenville Town Clerk 73 Ida Smith Lane Greenville NY 12083 518-966-8276
Lexington Town Clerk Route 42 Lexington NY 12452 518-989-6476
New Baltimore Town Clerk 3809 County Route 51 Hannacroix NY 12087 518-756-6600
Prattsville Town Hall 14517 Main Street Prattsville NY 12468 518-299-3125
Tannersville Village Clerk 1 Park Lane Tannersville NY 12485 518-589-5850
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Greene County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Greene County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.