Schoharie County Marriage Licenses

List of Schoharie County Marriage Licenses

Search for Schoharie County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Carlisle Town Hall 541 Crommie Road Cobleskill NY 12043 518-234-7080

Cobleskill Town Clerk 2668 New York 7 Cobleskill NY 12043 518-296-8180

Conesville Town Hall 1306 South Gilboa Road Gilboa NY 12076 607-588-7211

Jefferson Town Hall 677 North Harpersfield Road Jefferson NY 12093 607-652-7931

Richmondville Town Clerk 340 East Main Street Richmondville NY 12149 518-294-7150

Schoharie County Clerk 284 Main Street Schoharie NY 12157 518-295-8300

Schoharie County Health Department 276 Main Street Schoharie NY 12157 518-295-8365

Sharon Town Clerk 129 Main Street Sharon Springs NY 13459 518-284-3010

Summit Town Hall 1580 Charlotte Valley Road Summit NY 12175 518-287-1430

About Marriage Licenses

Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35-$40

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military

9. Waiting Period: 24 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Schoharie County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Schoharie County, New York?

You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?

In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.

How old do you have to be to get married in Schoharie County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.