Rensselaer County Marriage Licenses

Search for Rensselaer County NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Berlin Town Hall 65 South Main Street Berlin NY 12022 518-658-2020


Brunswick Town Clerk 336 Town Office Road Troy NY 12180 518-279-3461

Castleton Village Clerk 85 South Main Street Castleton-on-Hudson NY 12033 518-732-2211

East Greenbush Town Clerk 225 Columbia Turnpike Rensselaer NY 12144 518-477-7145

Green Island Town Clerk 69 Hudson Avenue Troy NY 12183 518-273-0661

Nassau Town Hall 29 Church Street Nassau NY 12123 518-766-2343

New York State Health Department 1 Fulton Street Troy NY 12180 518-408-5300

New York State Health Department 433 River Street Troy NY 12180 518-402-0836

North Greenbush Town Hall 2 Douglas Street Wynantskill NY 12198 518-283-4306

Petersburg Town Hall 65 Main Street Petersburg NY 12138 518-658-3777

Pittstown Town Hall 123 Tomhannock Road Valley Falls NY 12185 518-753-4222

Rensselaer City Hall 62 Washington Street Rensselaer NY 12144 518-462-4266

Rensselaer County Clerk 1600 7th Avenue Troy NY 12180 518-270-2880

Rensselaer County Health Department 69 Church Street Hoosick Falls NY 12090 518-686-0694

Sand Lake Town Clerk 8428 Miller Hill Road Averill Park NY 12153 518-674-2026

Schaghticoke Town Hall 290 Northline Drive Melrose NY 12121 518-753-6915

Schaghticoke Village Clerk 163 Main Street Schaghticoke NY 12154 518-753-6100

Schodack Town Hall 265 Schuurman Road Castleton-on-Hudson NY 12033 518-477-7590

Stephentown Town Clerk S STEPHENTOWN Rd Stephentown NY 12168 518-733-9195

Troy City Hall 433 River Street Troy NY 12180 518-279-7134

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35-$40

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military

9. Waiting Period: 24 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Rensselaer County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Rensselaer County, New York?

You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?

In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.

How old do you have to be to get married in Rensselaer County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.