Search for Columbia County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Austerlitz Town Clerk 812 New York 203 Spencertown NY 12165 518-392-5007
Canaan Clerk 1647 County Route 5 Canaan NY 12029 518-781-3749
Chatham Town Hall 488 New York 295 Chatham NY 12037 518-392-1655
Chatham Village Clerk 77 Main Street Chatham NY 12037 518-392-5821
Claverack Town Clerk 91 Church Street Ghent NY 12075 518-672-7911
Claverack Town Hall Lower Main St Philmont NY 12565 518-672-4468
Columbia County Clerk 401 State Street Hudson NY 12534 518-828-1527
Columbia County Health Department 747 Warren Street Hudson NY 12534 877-828-1691
Copake Town Clerk 230 Mountain View Road Copake NY 12516 518-329-2591
Copake Town Hall # RA, 230 Mountain View Rd Copake NY 12516 518-329-1234
Germantown Town Clerk 50 Palatine Park Road Germantown NY 12526 518-537-6687
Germantown Town Hall 50 Palatine Park Road Germantown NY 12526 518-537-6001
Ghent Town Hall 2306 New York 66 Ghent NY 12075 518-392-4644
Greenport Town Hall 600 Town Hall Drive Hudson NY 12534 518-828-4656
Hillsdale Town Hall 2609 New York 23 Hillsdale NY 12529 518-325-5073
Hudson City Hall 520 Warren Street Hudson NY 12534 518-828-1030
Kinderhook Village Clerk 6 Chatham Street Kinderhook NY 12106 518-758-9882
Livingston Town Clerk 119 County Route 19 Hudson NY 12534 518-851-9441
Livingston Town Hall 119 County Route 19 Hudson NY 12534 518-851-7210
New Lebanon Town Clerk 14755 New York 22 New Lebanon NY 12125 518-794-8888
Stockport Town Hall 2787 Atlantic Avenue Hudson NY 12534 518-828-9389
Stuyvesant Town Clerk 5 Sunset Drive Stuyvesant NY 12173 518-758-6248
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Columbia County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Columbia County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.