Essex County Marriage Licenses

Search for Essex County NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Crown Point Town Clerk 17 Monitor Bay Road Crown Point NY 12928 518-597-3235


Elizabethtown Town Hall 7563 Court Street Elizabethtown NY 12932 518-873-6555

Essex County Clerk 7559 Court Street Elizabethtown NY 12932 518-873-3600

Essex County Health Department 7551 Court Street Elizabethtown NY 12932 518-873-3560

Essex Town Hall 2313 MAIN St Essex NY 12936

Keene Town Hall 10892 Nys Route Keene NY 12942 518-576-4444

Lake Placid Village Clerk 301 MAIN St Lake Placid NY 12946 518-523-2597

Minerva Town Hall 5 Morse Memorial Highway Olmstedville NY 12857 518-251-2869

North Elba Town Hall 2693 Main Street Lake Placid NY 12946 518-523-2476

St Armand Town Clerk 1702 State Route 3 Bloomingdale NY 12913 518-891-3189

Westport Town Hall 22 Champlain Avenue Westport NY 12993 518-962-4419

Willsboro Town Clerk 5 Farrell Road Willsboro NY 12996 518-963-8933

Wilmington Town Clerk 146 SPRINGFIELD Rd Wilmington NY 12997 518-946-2105

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35-$40

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military

9. Waiting Period: 24 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Essex County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Essex County, New York?

You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?

In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.

How old do you have to be to get married in Essex County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.